How many Miqats for Hajj and Umrah?

The term “miqat” refers to the line beyond which it is required for pilgrims to don the Ihram clothes and beyond which no one is allowed to cross unless they are in the condition of Ihram. Those who cross the line without entering Ihram are required to make an animal sacrifice as a form of forgiveness. Travelers who intend to perform the Umrah or Hajj must first enter the state of Ihram at the Miqat queue, which translates as “a stated place or time,” before proceeding across the border. This entails observing the cleansing process, putting on the required attire, observing Ihram, and reciting the Talbiyah. The initial requirements of Ihram are place and time, i.e., where and when to declare one’s desire to undertake the Hajj and don the appropriate apparel to fulfil the duty. The greatest Umrah packages are chosen by pilgrims to undertake Umrah each year. No Muslim is permitted to cross the Miqat boundaries without putting on the Ihram.

The five stations of Miqat and their significance in Islam are covered in detail here.

  1. Dhul Hulayfah:

Abyar Ali, also known as Dhul Hulayfah, is situated 18 kilometers southwest of Madinah’s Masjid al-Nabwi. This is precisely 225 miles (410 km) north of Makkah, Saudi Arabia. The Miqat station for residents of Madinah and the surrounding regions is Dhul Hulayfah. As a result, before crossing Dhul Hulayfah, every pilgrim making the Hajj from the north should be dressed in Ihram.

  1. Al-Juhfah:

Rabigh is a popular name for Al-Juhfah. It is about 182 miles (113 km) northwest of Makkah. For pilgrims from the Sudan, Algeria, Egypt, Syria, Turkey, Europe, North America, and other African countries, Al-Juhfah serves as the Miqat. The little settlement of Rabigh, which is situated at the outside of Al-Juhfah. When Prophet Muhammad PBUH travelled to conquer Makkah, he found his uncle Abbas (RA) there.

  1. The Qarn al-Manazil:

The Miqat for pilgrims coming from Najd, the UAE, Pakistan, Oman, Malaysia, Australia, Singapore, etc. is Qarn al-Manazil, which lies 80 kilometers (50 miles) east of Makkah. The cities of Taif and Riyadh are close to Qarn al-Manazil. Jibraeel (AS), an angel, first appeared to Prophet Muhammad PBUH in the Qarn al-Manazil region during Taif’s rejection of him in the tenth year of the Prophet Hood.

  1. Irq Dhat:

The location of Dhat Irq is 56 miles (90 km) northeast of Makkah. For those who plan to complete the Hajj from Russia, China, Iran, or Iraq, this is the Miqat. Soon after Basra and Kufa had been conquered, Dhat Irq was founded under Hazrat Umar’s (RA) Caliphate. Irq Aswad, the area’s tallest peak, inspired its name.

  1. Yalamlam:

Yalamlam, also called Al-Sadiah, is a city that is situated 100 kilometers (62 miles) south of Makkah. For pilgrims from Yemen as well as those coming from southern countries like Nigeria and South Africa, Yalamlam serves as the Miqat station. The Indian subcontinent’s merchants employed Yalamlam in the past.

3 Miqats for Mecca residents:

Ayesha Mosque:
There is just one mosque that goes by the titles of Ayesha and Taneem. Today, this mosque is located exactly where Ayesha (RA) was ordered by her husband, the Prophet of Allah, may God bless him and grant him peace, to re-enter her Ihram owing to her menstrual condition.

Juranah Mosque:
The second Miqat for those who reside in Mecca is the Juranah Mosque. After the Hunayn War, he (PBUH) and his companions put on Ihram and left for Mecca to do the Hajj and Umrah.

Hudaybiyah Mosque:
The Prophet (peace be upon him) and 10,000 of his companions remained at the Hudaybiyah Mosque, which is the third Miqat. At that time, an agreement was reached at Hudaybiyah between the Muslims and the Quraysh tribe of Mecca. Today, Hudaybiyah mosque is also utilized for maintaining Ihram in addition to Ayesha and Juranah mosques.